THIS-THAT SADNESS

tumblr_o934t6c6rl1u64t9ho1_540

You were starting to make me sad.

All I wanted to do was

cry,

cry,

cry,

cry out the this-that sadness inside.

I did not mean to cry out in the tears sense of crying.

I wanted to cry out in the helpless sense of crying.

Helpless, because I know you will leave.

Helpless, because you know you will leave.

Helpless, because I know you care.

Too much.

Helpless, because you know you care.

Too much.

All of this sadness.

Helpless, because I am used to your details.

Helpless, because you are used to my details.

Helpless, because I talk to you.

For hours.

Helpless, because you talk to me.

For hours.

All of that sadness.

Helpless, because I go days without speaking to you.

Helpless, because you go days without speaking to me.

Helpless, because we still talk for hours.

Helpless, because I sometimes catch you looking at me. Keep looking. Keep looking. Not speaking.

Helpless, because I sometimes catch myself looking at you. Keep looking. Keep looking. Not speaking.

All of this sadness.

Helpless, because I know the shape of your eyes.
Helpless, because  you know the shape of my eyes.

Helpless, because the world’s calling you.

You have to leave.
Helpless, because the world’s calling me.
I have to stay.

All of that sadness.

Helpless, because I hope to see you again.

Helpless, because you hope to see me again.
Helpless, because this is too much. Too much. Too much. Too much. Too much. So much, that it is nothing.

Helpless, because I see.
All of this helplessness.
Helpless, because you see.
All of this helplessness.
All of this-that sadness.

You were starting to make me sad.

All I wanted to do was

Cry,

Cry,

Cry,

Cry out the this-that sadness inside.

One thought on “THIS-THAT SADNESS

Leave a Reply

